Review Commision

Special Commission on Clean Elections

Sixteen people have been appointed to a special commission that will review the Clean Elections Law in the coming months and make any necessary suggestions for changes in the new law.

The Special Commission on Clean Elections, established under MGL Chapter 55A, Section 17, "shall investigate and study the workings of the Massachusetts Clean Elections, including, but not limited to, the required number of qualifying contributions, the level of clean election amounts, expenditure limits for participants, adequacy of funding for the Massachusetts Clean Elections, the level and impact of independent expenditures in Massachusetts elections, the cost of implementation, estimated cost of compliance with this chapter by the office of campaign and political finance, and the priority of funding clean elections candidates in the event the legislature appropriates insufficient funds."

The Commission is expected to begin meeting in early 2000, under the direction of its two co-chairs, the House and Senate Chairmen of the Joint Committee on Election Laws. The law calls for the Commission to submit its report and proposed legislation, if any, by Oct. 1, 2000, and meet every two years thereafter.

The members are eight state officials or their designees and eight citizens appointed by the Director of OCPF. The eight ex officio members are:

- Sen. Guy W. Glodis (D-Worcester), Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Election Laws (co-chair);
- Rep. Antonio F.D. Cabral (D-New Bedford), House Chair, Joint Committee on Election Laws (cochair);
- Gov. A. Paul Cellucci or his designee;
- William F. Galvin, Secretary of the Commonwealth, or his designee;
- Sen. Thomas F. Birmingham (D-Chelsea), Senate President or his designee (Designee: Sen. Stanley Rosenberg, D-Amherst);
- Sen. Brian P. Lees (R-E. Longmeadow), Senate Minority Leader, or his designee;
- Rep. Thomas M. Finneran (D-Boston), Speaker of the House, or his designee; and
- Rep. Francis L. Marini (R-Hanson), House Minority Leader, or his designee.

The eight members appointed by OCPF Director Michael Sullivan are:

- Stephen Long, state Department of Environmental Protection, who was a member of the commission that reviewed the previous public financing program in 1996;
- Denise L. MacAloney, town clerk of Westminster and President of the Massachusetts Town Clerks Association;
- Jeffrey Milyo, Assistant Professor of Economics and Adjunct Professor of Political Science at Tufts University;
- Michael J. Widmer, President, Massachusetts Taxpayers Association;
- George Pillsbury, Director, Massachusetts Money and Politics Project;
- Suzanne Petersson, former member of the Northampton School Committee;
- Karen L. Dorfman, Massachusetts League of Women Voters; and
- Bradley S. Balzer, Deputy Director, OCPF.